Taxes
  • FILE PHOTO: Democratic presidential candidate Senator Elizabeth Warren speaks during the fourth U.S. Democratic presidential candidates 2020 election debate at Otterbein University in Westerville, Ohio U.S.

    Pushing Back Against the Wealth Tax at the Dem Debate

    By Michael Rainey

    Sen. Elizabeth Warren defended her proposed wealth tax at the Democratic presidential debate on Wednesday night: “I’m tired of freeloading billionaires,” Warren said . “I think it's time that we ask...

  • Social Security and Medicare taxes

    Democrat's New Taxes Wouldn't Hit Just Billionaires

    By Michael Rainey

    Some Democratic tax proposals are focused on making millionaires and billionaires pay more, but other households would be affected as well. Neil Irwin of The New York Times points out Tuesday that...

  • A security camera hangs near a corner of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) building in Washington

    An Easy Way to Get $1 Trillion More in Tax Revenue?

    By Michael Rainey

    The first step in reforming the U.S. tax system doesn’t involve raising rates or eliminating deductions, say former Treasury Secretary Lawrence Summers and Penn Law professor Natasha Sarin. Instead,...

  • FedEx cuts forecast as air freight weakness hits profit

    FedEx Battles New York Times Over Trump’s Tax Cuts

    By Michael Rainey

    The New York Times published a piece Saturday highlighting the huge windfall FedEx received from the 2017 GOP tax cuts — and the company’s CEO isn’t happy with the analysis. According to the Times,...

  • FILE PHOTO - Visitors attend the 26th Monaco Yacht show in Monte Carlo port

    Tax Break for Poor Neighborhoods Is Helping Build a Superyacht Marina

    By Michael Rainey

    The 2017 Tax Cuts and Jobs Act created special “opportunity zones” that give investors generous tax breaks in exchange for investing in low-income neighborhoods. The purpose of the tax law is “to...

  • District of Columbia

    CBO Offers 121 Ways to Shrink the Deficit

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    The Congressional Budget Office has released a 326-page guide that describes dozens of ways the federal government could reduce its large and growing budget deficit. The 121 policy options included...

  • U.S. President Trump participates in tour of U.S.-Mexico border wall prototypes near Otay Mesa Port of Entry in San Diego, California

    Boxed In by Trump, GOP Hurtles Toward a Shutdown

    By Michael Rainey

    House Republicans considered moving forward with a bill that would have given President Trump the $5 billion he has demanded for border wall construction, but it looks like they’re leaving town...

  • Marco Rubio, 44

    Marco Rubio’s Surprise Critique of the GOP Tax Bill

    By Michael Rainey

    Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL) tackled the decline of the American dream in an essay published by The Atlantic Thursday, and in doing so offered some sharp criticism of the 2017 Republican tax overhaul – a...

  • Moody’s Warns of Declining US Fiscal Strength

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    Trump’s tax cuts combined with a slowing economy will diminish the United States’ “fiscal strength” over the next 10 years, Moody’s Investor Service said Wednesday. The gradual decline could pressure...

  • A security camera hangs near a corner of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) building in Washington

    Inside the Remarkable — and Costly — Decline of the IRS

    By Michael Rainey

    Weighed down by budget cuts and staff reductions, the number of audits performed by the Internal Revenue Service has been dropping for years. A new report from ProPublica and The Atlantic takes a...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Friday, October 14, 2011 - 4:00am
Friday, October 14, 2011 - 4:00am
Friday, October 14, 2011 - 4:00am
Thursday, October 13, 2011 - 9:44pm
Tuesday, October 11, 2011 - 4:00am
Friday, October 7, 2011 - 4:00am
Thursday, October 6, 2011 - 9:12pm
Tuesday, October 4, 2011 - 4:00am
Wednesday, September 28, 2011 - 9:44pm
Tuesday, September 27, 2011 - 4:57pm
Friday, September 23, 2011 - 9:30am
Wednesday, September 21, 2011 - 4:01am
Tuesday, September 20, 2011 - 2:12pm
Monday, September 19, 2011 - 8:15pm
Monday, September 19, 2011 - 1:53pm
Monday, September 19, 2011 - 4:22am
Sunday, September 18, 2011 - 2:42pm
Friday, September 16, 2011 - 9:30am
Monday, September 12, 2011 - 9:30am
Monday, September 12, 2011 - 1:40am
Wednesday, September 7, 2011 - 4:00am
Monday, September 5, 2011 - 5:14pm
Friday, September 2, 2011 - 8:44pm
Wednesday, August 31, 2011 - 5:57pm
Wednesday, August 31, 2011 - 5:00am
Wednesday, August 31, 2011 - 4:00am
Saturday, August 27, 2011 - 1:57pm
Thursday, August 25, 2011 - 9:30am
Sunday, August 21, 2011 - 1:58pm
Friday, August 19, 2011 - 11:46am
Friday, August 19, 2011 - 4:00am
Thursday, August 18, 2011 - 2:54pm
Wednesday, August 17, 2011 - 10:29pm
Wednesday, August 17, 2011 - 2:24pm
Monday, August 15, 2011 - 2:57pm
Wednesday, August 10, 2011 - 9:30am
Friday, August 5, 2011 - 4:00am
Thursday, August 4, 2011 - 9:42pm
Wednesday, August 3, 2011 - 2:58pm
Wednesday, August 3, 2011 - 9:30am
Monday, August 1, 2011 - 12:34pm
Wednesday, July 27, 2011 - 9:20pm
Wednesday, July 27, 2011 - 3:26pm
Tuesday, July 26, 2011 - 4:00am
Monday, July 25, 2011 - 4:22pm
Thursday, July 21, 2011 - 2:04pm
Friday, July 15, 2011 - 9:30am
Thursday, July 14, 2011 - 6:16pm

Pages